January 2010 Large Print

But I Trusted You and Other True Cases

Stones Into Schools: promoting peace with books, not bombs, in Afghanistan and Pakistan

Greg Mortenson picks up where Three Cups of Tea left off in 2003 with the dramatic story of his ongoing humanitarian efforts in the Middle East. Mortenson recounts his relentless labors to establish schools for girls in Afghanistan and describes his extensive work in Azad Kashmir and Pakistan after a massive earthquake hit the region in 2005. He tells of the unique ways he has built relationships with Islamic clerics, militia commanders, and tribal leaders, even as he was dodging shootouts with feuding Afghan warlords and surviving an eight-day armed abduction by the Taliban. He shares for the first time his broader vision to promote peace through education and literacy, while touching on military matters, Islam, and women. He weaves it all together with many rich stories of the people who have been involved in his remarkable two decades of work.

The Pretend Wife by Bridget Asher

From the author of “My Husband’s Sweethearts” comes this big-hearted, fiercely perceptive novel about a happily married woman and the little white lie that changes everything.

Cutting Edge by Allison Brennan

Called one of today’s hottest writing talents (“Romantic Times”), Brennan, the “New York Times”-bestselling author of “Sudden Death,” takes the danger and desire all the way to a razor-sharp finale, in the concluding novel of her latest thrill-packed trilogy. Original.

Rainwater by Sandra Brown

A romantic historical novel from bestselling thriller-master Sandra Brown, about an independent woman who runs a boarding house in Dust Bowl Texas.

The Scarpetta Factor by Patricia Cornwell

The indomitable Kay Scarpetta, medical examiner extraordinaire [is back] . . . When it comes to the forensic sciences, nobody can touch Cornwell, who analyzes cyberspace crime as effortlessly as she walks us through cutting-edge lab technology and elucidates clinical obsession.–“New York Times Book Review.”

U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton

Through 20 excursions into the dark side of the human soul, Grafton has never written the same book twice. Once again, she breaks genre formulas, creating a twisting, complex, surprise-filled, and totally satisfying thriller. Kinsey Millhone agrees to help Michael Sutton locate a grave he discovered 21 years earlier, but as the investigation unfolds, Kinsey discovers Michael has an uneasy relationship with the truth.

Trial by Fire by J.A. Jance

Ali Reynolds returns in the newest adventure in the “New York Times” bestselling series by J.A. Jance.

Blood Game by Iris Johansen

Bestseller Johansen’s latest Eve Duncan forensics thriller features an all-too-mortal vampire. Fresh off a multiple child homicide case (Quicksand), Eve discovers a blood-stained goblet in her refrigerator. The goblet closely resembles one found with the bloodless body of Nancy Jo Norris, a U.S. senator’s 19-year-old daughter, the victim of a wannabe Dracula who ultimately thirsts for Eve. In a paranormal twist, Joe Quinn, Eve’s FBI love interest, appears to have contracted psychic powers from Megan Blair, introduced in Pandora’s Daughter, and can now see dead people-Nancy Jo and Eve’s daughter, Bonnie, to be exact. The ghosts guide the search for the serial sucker, complete with corny gothic monologues. Johansen risks alienating some readers as the series slips deeper into the supernatural, but diehards will be pleased Eve at last finds some peace in her ever-growing bond with Joe. 500,000 first printing. (Oct.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

La’s Orchestra Saves the World by Alexander McCall Smith

McCall Smith, author of the wildly popular No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, makes his first foray into historical fiction in this delightful stand-alone novel. Lavender ( La ) is a divorcee in her thirties living alone in the English countryside at the outbreak of World War II. With little to occupy her time, La devotes herself to the war effort, first working as a land girl for a local egg farmer, until Felix, a Polish refugee airman, replaces her. Again at loose ends, she starts a morale-boosting effort that makes her famous an amateur orchestra. Originally intended to perform only until the Battle of Britain was over, La’s orchestra sticks together until V-E day, becoming the highlight of off-duty hours for the local airmen as well as her fellow villagers. The story of La’s orchestra is intertwined with La’s growth as a woman and her realization that love may not be gone from her life forever. McCall Smith once again creates unforgettable characters and a story that will resonate with readers across generations. The WWII home front is hardly new territory for novelists, but McCall Smith manages to use the familiar backdrop to create a fresh and unforgettable story about the power of human kindness. Highly recommended for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (2008), McCall Smith’s numerous fans, and historical fiction readers of all kinds.–Moyer, Jessica Copyright 2009 Booklist

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Another brilliant, original and moving novel from the author of The Time Traveler’s Wife. Julia and Valentina Poole are normal American teenagers — normal, at least, for identical “mirror” twins who have no interest in college or jobs or possibly anything outside their cozy suburban home. But everything changes when they receive notice that an aunt whom they didn’t know existed has died and left them her amazing flat in a building by Highgate Cemetery in London. They feel that at last their own lives can begin … but they have no idea that they’ve been summoned into a tangle of fraying lives, from the OCD-suffering crossword setter who lives above them to their aunt’s mysterious and elusive lover who lives below them, and even to their aunt herself, who never got over her estrangement from the mother of the girls — her own twin — and who can’t even seem to quite leave her flat….

The Monster in the Box by Ruth Rendell

A new Inspector Wexford novel from “the best mystery writer in the English-speaking world? (“Time”).

Bed of Roses by Nora Roberts

In her second bridal-themed romance about four friends who run Vows, a Greenwich, Conn., wedding planning business, Roberts focuses on Emma Grant while her partners, MacKensie, Parker and Laurel, play supporting roles. In the first installment of this planned quartet, Vows’ bridal photographer got engaged, and now florist Emma wonders if she can find true love with old friend Jack Cooke, who is also very close to Emma’s associates. When Emma kisses Jack, her “spark-o-meter” melts from the blazing heat, but their romance’s setbacks are smoothed out with a little help from their friends. Though there are few surprises in this cute courtship, those with a TiVo full of Bridezillas should enjoy it, thanks largely to Roberts’s effortless wit. (Oct.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: