November 2010 Paperbacks

Bookmarked for Death by Lorna Barrett

Tricia Miles, owner of the Haven’t Got a Clue bookstore, must solve her own mystery when a bestselling author is found dead in the washroom.

His Chosen Bride by Alexandra Bassett

Will appeal to fans of Victoria Alexander, Karen Hawkins, Julia Quinn, Barbara Dawson Smith, Liz Carlyle, and those readers who enjoy historical romances set in the Regency period.

Red Blooded Murder by Laura Caldwell

A high-profile job on Trial TV lands Chicago lawyer Izzy McNeil in the hot seat. After a shocking end to her engagement, she finds herself juggling not only her ex-fiancé, but a guy she never expected. And a moonlighting undercover gig has her digging deep into worlds she barely knew existed. But all of this takes a backseat when Izzy’s friend winds up brutally murdered. Suddenly, she must balance the demands of a voracious media and the knowledge that she didn’t know her friend as well as she thought.

The Cold Room by J. T. Ellison

Homicide Detective Taylor Jackson thinks she’s seen it all in Nashville–from the Southern Strangler to the Snow White Killer. But she’s never seen anything as perverse as The Conductor.

Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost

From the author of the “New York Times”-bestselling Night Huntress series comes a sexy spinoff, in which Cat’s and Bones’ closest confidants are confronted with heart-stopping lust, love, and danger of their own.

The Keepers by Heather Graham

At the core of New Orleans lie the otherworldly vampires and shape-shifters that hide in plain sight among mankind. As one of the Keepers, an elite group possessing superior skill and strength, Fiona MacDonald’s duty is to maintain peace in a place where one vampire’s bite could ignite war. When Detective Jagger DeFarge, a vampire, is called in at the discovery of a body drained of blood, both the detective and Fiona must join uneasy forces.Jagger will stop at nothing to find the murderer— including working with the sensual and suspicious Fiona. As more die, it becomes clear that this isn’t the work of an ordinary vampire. No one is safe. So when the killer’s attention turns to Fiona, will Jagger risk destroying his own species to protect the woman he so passionately desires?The Keepers: Three extraordinary sisters, balancing the duties of their birthrights and the yearnings of their hearts.

Blood Ties by Kay Hooper

The elite Special Crimes Unit, the FBI’s most controversial and effective team, is a group of mavericks and misfits trained to use their unique psychic abilities to hunt the worst monsters imaginable–human ones. Led by the enigmatic Noah Bishop, the SCU has earned a reputation for pitting their skills and cunning against killers that other cops fear. But this time Bishop and his agents face an enemy who has them in his sights, a trained sniper with a deadly plan–and more than one ace up his sleeve.

Burn by Linda Howard

It’s true what they say: Money changes everything. And in Linda Howard’s red-hot novelBurn, the changes come fast, furious, and filled with the kind of sexy suspense, heart-stopping romance, beautiful people, and risky business guaranteed to give you the most bang for your buck. Money certainly changes Jenner Redwine’s life when she wins a lottery jackpot. But it also costs her plenty: Her father rips her off and disappears, her fortune-hunting boyfriend soon becomes her ex, and friends-turned-freeloaders give her the cold shoulder when she stops paying for everything. Flush with new money, Jenner can’t imagine ever finding a place in the world of the wealthy. Seven years later, though, she’s rubbing elbows with the rich, despite the fact she still feels like a party crasher. Luckily she finds an ally–and a guide to the rarefied realm of privilege–in shy, kind-hearted heiress Sydney Hazlett, who quickly becomes Jenner’s confidante and surrogate sister. When Sydney invites Jenner on a charity cruise aboard a luxury liner, Jenner reluctantly agrees. But while she’s expecting–and dreading–two weeks of masquerade balls, art auctions, and preening glitterati, what she gets is more like a Hitchcock movie than a Love Boat episode. Taken hostage by a menacing stranger, Jenner must cooperate in a mysterious cloak-and-dagger scheme–or else. With nowhere to run, and with Sydney’s life as well as her own at risk, Jenner is drawn into a game of dizzying intrigue and harrowing danger. But as her panic gives way to exhilaration, and fear of her captor turns to fascination, Jenner rediscovers feelings she hasn’t had in years–and realizes she’s found a life worth living.If she survives.

The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson

Part blistering espionage thriller, part riveting police procedural, and part piercing exposeacute; on social injustice,The Girl Who Played with Fireis a masterful, endlessly satisfying novel. Mikael Blomkvist, crusading publisher of the magazineMillennium, has decided to run a story that will expose an extensive sex trafficking operation. On the eve of its publication, the two reporters responsible for the article are murdered, and the fingerprints found on the murder weapon belong to his friend, the troubled genius hacker Lisbeth Salander. Blomkvist, convinced of Salanderrsquo;s innocence, plunges into an investigation. Meanwhile, Salander herself is drawn into a murderous game of cat and mouse, which forces her to face her dark past.

One Season of Sunshine by Julia  London

Jane Aaron heads to Texas to find her birth mother. While there, she’s hired by Asher Price, a wealthy widower, to look after his children. Just as she and Asher are falling in love, Jane suspects that Asher’s late wife might actually have been her mother.

Summer of Two Wishes by Julia London

Macy Lockhart’s life is shattered with the news that her husband Finn, serving in the military overseas, has been killed in the line of duty. While Macy tries to sustain herself with memories of Finn, it is wealthy Wyatt Clark who slowly brings joy back into her life. Macy vows to cherish Wyatt, and their marriage is happy and as solid as a rock–until the day that Finn, miraculously spared from death, returns home to claim his bride.

Mister X by John Lutz

He mutilates his victims. Slices their throats. And carves an X into their flesh. Five years ago, he claimed the lives of six women. Then the killings abruptly stopped, no one knows why. Ex-homicide detective Frank Quinn remembers. Which is why he’s shocked to see one of the dead women in his office. Actually, she’s the identical twin of the last victim, and she wants Quinn to find her sister’s murderer. But when the cold case heats up, it attracts the media spotlight and suddenly the killings start again.

The Devil Wears Plaid by Teresa Medeiros

Emmaline Marlow is about to wed the laird of the Hepburn clan to save her father when the Hepburns’ sworn enemy, Jamie Sinclair, whisks Emmaline away. His plans to use her as a pawn go awry when irresistible passion between the two of them erupts.

The Perfect Couple by Brenda Novak

The first book in a new back-to-back trilogy follows a woman as she searches for her missing 13-year-old daughter. A P.I. who donates his time to victims’ charity The Last Stand in Sacramento has determined the girl has been taken by someone close to the family.

Bound by Dreams by Christina Skye

“American travel expert Kiera Morissey is adept at getting in and out of tight spots. But when a deathbed promise brings Kiera back to Draycott Abbey, she meets rugged Scotsman Calan MacKay, and her life is changed forever. For fifteen years, changed by turns to a swift creature of night, Calan has used his deadly strength and speed to protect. But he wakes with bruises on his body and blood on his hands. And Kiera may be the key to getting his life back. Calan stirs emotions in Kiera that she’s never felt before. Getting in and out may be her skill, yet she finds it impossible to leave the abbey until she’s unraveled its mysteries, and Calan’s dark secret. But will the shadows from the past and an ancient vow of evil threaten the future they may have together.”–p.[4] of cover.

Wicked Delights of a Bridal Bed by Tracy Warren

Lady Mallory Byron takes a second chance at love, in the fourth book in the Byrons of Braebourne series by a “New York Times”-bestselling author.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: